Vacancy on the rising

IMG_0219

“That’s the house my dad lived in, me and my dad lived in and my step-mom. One bedroom shack. It looked big on the outside, it’s truly small and that’s where I was at every day.  I wake up and right there on the little stump, steps right there, I sit down.  Sit down and watch all everybody on the block running around, all the drug dealers selling drugs, they used to shoot dice right there by that gate, that black gate, I used to just watch them gamble. . . . I’d sit on that step and watch all that stuff and I stood right there – I was just rapping, that’s why I started rapping man. . . . But then once they got me off that porch right there . . . everything really changed because then – that’s where this picture right here started.  I started selling drugs and everything right there – it was hard being a kid.”

-Proverbs

Leave a comment