Dissertation complete!

After much transcription and grounded theory data analysis, my (Anta’s) dissertation based on the project was successfully defended on September 22, 2015! Several participants and members from Lawndale Community Church also attended the defense at Wheaton College and offered their feedback regarding the results.

20150922_13570620150922_135541Passing the defense! (l-r): Cynthia Neal Kimball, PhD (reader); Katherine Tyson McCrea, PhD (reader, on Skype); and Jana Pressley, PsyD (chair)

The dissertation is available on ProQuest (academic library access required) http://gradworks.umi.com/37/36/3736709.html

I would like to thank the numerous people that mentored, loved, encouraged, prayed, cried, and rejoiced with me, including my dissertation committee, graduate student colleagues, family members, and the greater Lawndale family.

Last, and certainly not least, I extend my heartfelt gratitude to the men and alumni of Hope House who graciously showed and taught me about the streets, recovery, reentry, brotherhood, and life with God. It is to you, and to your collective dreams for the future of North Lawndale, that I dedicate this work.

BEC team at defense
BEC advisors and participants celebrating Anta’s defense

Leave a comment